Nordic Rheology Awards

NRS may present two awards a year and all members of NRS are encouraged to propose nominees. The Carl Klason Rheology Award and the Young Rheologists Rheology Award are given to persons active in the Nordic countries.

The Carl Klason Rheology Award amounting to 1000 Euro may be given to a person who either

  • has made outstanding contributions to the basic understanding of rheological phenomena or to the application of rheology, or
  • has made outstanding contributions to the progress of rheology in one or more of the Nordic countries.

The Young Rheologists Rheology Award with 500 Euro may be given to a young person who has made outstanding work in basic or applied rheology at the graduate or postgraduate level.

The awardees are selected from the nominations by the Award Committee which consists of Annika Sahlström, Kurt Ingar Draget, Ole Hassager and Jón Elvar Wallevik. A letter describing the nominee and a motivation can be sent to the NRS president before May 1, 2020.




Small conferences in rheology are preferred
The participants of NRC 2020 were asked to rate different conferences, small and large physical conferences as well as on-line meetings and avatar-type conferences such as the NRC 2020. Small physical conferences as the NRCs were considered to most rewarding and interactive, closely followed by larger physical and avatar-type conferences. The current fatigue caused by on-line meetings was noticable in the results through rating such conferences as less rewarding and interactive.