About the Nordic Rheology Society

The Nordic Rheology Society engages people interested in rheology in the Nordic countries.


To promote and propagate rheology at all levels throughout the Nordic Countries.


To promote and propagate rheology at all levels by building a broad forum where academia and industry, in their applicational and theoretical guises can meet, share and discuss ideas to their mutual benefit.


Rheology is defined as the science of the deformation and flow of matter, which means that rheology in some form enters almost every study of material properties. In the Nordic countries, rheological measurements have become standard techniques in both industrial and academic research. The Nordic Rheology Society has been formed as a meeting ground for engineers, physicists, chemists and biologists engaged in rheology in industry and academia.

Member services

  • The annual NRC, the Nordic Rheology Conference features invited speakers of international standing as well as sessions on general rheology. Contributing papers are published in the Annual Transactions of the NRS which is distributed to the members. The NRC also offers an exhibition of rheological equipment, poster display and rheology courses which makes it the leading meeting place for industry and academia in the Nordic countries.
  • Access to the member pages on this web site including PDF-articles from the NRS Annual Transaction, and the member directory.
  • Permission to post News on the NRS web site.
  • Information about local rheology events.

New NRS board elected for 2024-2028
A new NRS board was elected at the Annual Meeting of the Nordic Rheology Society on May 30. With the unanimous support from NRS members, the following NRS members were elected in the board:
President: Olli-Ville Laukkanen
Secretary: Norbert Raak
ICR representative: Roland Kádár
Danish representative: Peter Szabo
Danish deputy member: Florian Nettesheim
Finnish representative: Wenwen Fang
Finnish deputy member: Pekka Laurikainen
Icelandic representative: Krishna Kumar Damodaran
Icelandic deputy member: Margrét Geirsdottir
Norwegian representative: Catherine Taylor Nordgård
Norwegian deputy member: Blandine Feneuil
Swedish representative: Gustaf Mårtensson
Swedish deputy member: Dragana Arlov
In addition, the Editor of the NRS Annual Transactions Andrianifaliana Herimonja Rabenjafimanantsoa serves as a co-opted member of the board.
Let's congratulate the new NRS board and wish them all the success in their activities!